Dr. Dannica Fleuss
Research Fellow / Lecturer

Postdoctoral Research Fellow / Lecturer:

2016 until present, Political Science with a focus on Political Theory, Helmut-Schmidt-University, Hamburg


2018 until present, Centre for Deliberative Democracy and Global Governance, University of Canberra


Summer term 2018, Political Theory, University of Hamburg 

2015-2016, Political Theory, Institute of Political Science, University of Heidelberg 

2014-2017, Philosophy, Department of Philosophy, University of Heidelberg

Guest Lecturer:

02/2021 & 04-07/2021,  Department for Philosophy and Religious Studies, African Women's Studies Centre, School of Law, University of Nairobi, Kenya

Deliberative Democracy Summer School Feb. 2020, Centre for Deliberative Democracy and Global Governance, University of Canberra, Australia

12/2018, Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies, University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

Visiting Researcher:

February 2020: Centre for Deliberative Democracy and Global Governace, University of Canberra, Australia

April 2019: Centre for the Study of Democracy, University of Westminster, UK

July-August 2018: Centre for Deliberative Democracy and Global Governance, University of Canberra, Australia

Associate Editor

since 2021: Associate Editor Democratic Theory (Berghahn Journals)


PhD Thesis, Political Science • 2016 • University of Heidelberg, Germany

Thesis: „Prozeduren, Rechte, Demokratie – das legitimatorische Potential von Verfahren für politische Systeme.“ [“The Normative Legitimacy of Democracies. On the Limits of Proceduralism.”]

PhD awarded with highest honours (summa cum laude); advisors: Prof. Dr. Michael Haus, PD Dr. Ulrich Thiele

Master of Arts, Philosophy and Political Science • 2012 • University of Heidelberg, Germany

Thesis: On the debate concerning the ontological status of qualitative mental states between Frank Jackson and David Lewis; Master’s degree awarded with honours 

National University of Ireland, Galway • 2010

University of Wuppertal, Certificate in Ancient Greek • 2006


German Political Science Association (DVPW)

American Political Science Association

Political Studies Association (UK)

Expert Group for Participatory and Deliberative Democracy (PSA)

Arbeitskreis Hochschullehre (DVPW [Expert Group for Teaching in Political Science])

Sektion für Politische Theorie (DVPW [Expert Group for Political Theory])


Honorary Positions:

Co-Convenor, Participatory & Deliberative Democracy Specialist Group (Political Studies Association)

Postdoctoral Spokesperson, Hamburg Research Academy (HRA)

Junior Scientific Advisory Board, Verlag Barbara Budrich

Representative in the faculty’s committee for study regulations, Helmut-Schmidt-University Hamburg 

Editorial Boards:

Journal of Democratic Theory


2008-2012: Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes / German Academic Scholarship Foundation